Temple of Mithras Excavation 1954 Photographs
Professor Grimes on ladder, with Audrey Williams standing below in apsidal west end of the Temple of Mithras
Visitors scrutinising the remains of the Temple of Mithras in 1954 © The Times / News Syndication
Audrey Williams (with trademark woolly hat) and workman (with trademark fag) and the newly discovered head of Mithras
Crowds of sightseers queuing along Walbrook and into Cannon Street. An estimated 400,000 people visited the site in a two-week period
Visitors in queue within the excavation of the Temple of Mithras - Photograph credits on the photos







.jpg)











